Menu

Movie “Parks after Covid-19”

The Association of Parks with the support of the Ministry of Construction, Housing and Utilities of Russia released the film «Parks after COVID-19: new realities of public space management». The story is based on an online interview of the Association’s Director Denis Tsukanov with experts from Russia, Belarus, the UK, Switzerland, Spain, New Zealand and South Africa.

How will parks develop after the pandemic?

Representatives of park directorates, ministries and city halls expressed their opinion on future prospects and plans. The highlight of the film is the combination of the information about different approaches during the pandemic: from completely closed green zones and lockdown in cities to the situation in those countries where the regime of self-isolation was not introduced.

The article contains the main theses that were touched upon by experts in the film: how attitudes to parks and public spaces have changed since the COVID-19 pandemic began, what should be improved in management methods, and how green zones can optimize funding systems.

FINANCE

Mark Bowater / Auckland, New Zealand
Head of Parks Services, Parks, Sport and Recreation, Auckland Council

“We are funded by taxes that the population pays to the local government: a park receives 90% from this source. About 10% of revenue comes from charging visitors. To get back on track, we need to save $ 120 million. I think we could potentially face a 10% reduction in the financial resource base.”

Gabino Carballо / Barcelona, Spain
Senior technical officer at Parks and Gardens Department, Barcelona City Council

“There are only two paid parks in Barcelona. One of them is Park Güell, which has lost virtually all of its income, so it does not pay taxes. Restaurants do not work and are also not taxed: not only parks, but the entire city is experiencing a lack of funding. The parks have a guaranteed operating income. It will not grow, perhaps it will decrease a little. We have less money, more pressure, but we provide better services.”

Mark Camley / London, the UK
Executive Director of Park, Operations and Venues at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

“All of us will suffer due to financial difficulties caused by restrictions on catering and events. I think creating something new for our new visitors could improve our financial well-being in the future. Maintaining the interest of old visitors and attracting new ones will be a great achievement. Parks should remain a place for quiet recreation and enjoyment when everything is normalized.”

FUTURE

Alexey Reteyum / Moscow, Russia
Chairman of the Council of the Association of Parks, Director of the Botanical Garden of the MSU “Apothecary Garden”

“People will want to relax, come to gardens and parks, get emotions. And we will soon be able to reach the indicators that we had in previous years before this tragedy with the spread of the coronavirus. I think it may even be as early as this fall.”

Christine Bräm / Zurich, Switzerland
Director of the Office of Parks and Open Spaces (Grün Stadt Zürich)

“I believe that people in Zurich and other Swiss residents have been able to realize how important parks and public spaces are in their area of residence.”

Pavel Danilov / Moscow, Russia
Director of the Project Directorate of Ministry of Construction, Housing and Utilities of Russia

“I believe that the responsibility of both regional and municipal authorities for choosing the place (of a future park territory) will increase. Now we need to take a careful approach and rank the places of proposed improvement according to their demand by the population.”

Bishop Ngobeli / Johannesburg, South Africa
President of Institute of Environment and Recreation Management South Africa

Now we, professionals from all over the world, must unite and conduct a dialogue about how to build work in parks in the future. Discuss how the process is managed in different parts of the world. We need to work together more than ever before: through joint efforts, we will be able to develop the right approach to such crises.

Non-Profit Corporate Organization Association for the Development of Urban Parks and Public Spaces
(NPCO Association of Parks)

13 Rusakovskaya Street, 107140 Moscow Russia
Borodino Plaza Business Center, office 0706

For correspondence:
107140, Moscow, Russia, PO box 135, Association of Parks

For the media (expert comments):
+7 (919) 968-02-52
pr@urbanparks.ru

+7 (495) 748-93-34
info@urbanparks.ru

PSRN 1177700019496

TIN 708329204

IEC 770801001

C/A 40703810401150000033

The Centralniy Branch of VTB Bank (PJSC)

BIC 044525411

Меню

Фильм «Парки после коронавируса»

НКО «Ассоциация парков» при поддержке Минстроя России выпустила фильм «Парки после коронавируса: новые реалии управления общественными пространствами». Сюжет основан на онлайн-интервью директора Ассоциации Дениса Цуканова с экспертами из России, Беларуси, Англии, Швейцарии, Испании, Новой Зеландии и ЮАР.

Как будут развиваться парки после пандемии?

Свое мнение о дальнейших перспективах и планах высказали представители дирекций парков, министерств и администраций. Фильм интересен тем, что объединяет информацию о разных подходах к действию во время пандемии: от полностью закрытых зеленых зон и локдауна в городах до ситуации в тех странах, где режим самоизоляции так и не был введен.

Ниже собраны основные тезисы, которые были затронуты экспертами в фильме: как меняется отношение к паркам и общественным пространствам после коронавируса, что нужно усовершенствовать в методах управления и каким образом зеленые зоны смогут оптимизировать системы финансирования.

ФИНАНСЫ

Марк Бовотер / Окленд, Новая Зеландия
Директор Службы парков, спорта и отдыха

«Мы финансируемся за счет налогов, которые население платит местному правительству: из этого источника парк получает 90%. Около 10% выручки поступает от взимания платы с посетителей. Чтобы вернуться на прежние показатели, нам нужно сэкономить 120 миллионов долларов. Я думаю, мы потенциально можем столкнуться с 10% снижением финансовой ресурсной базы.»

Габино Карбальо / Барселона, Испания
Руководитель проектов Департамента парков и садов мэрии Барселоны

«В Барселоне только два платных парка. Один из них — парк Гуэль, который потерял фактически весь свой доход, поэтому не платит налоги. Заведения не работают и также не облагаются налогами: не только парки, но и весь город испытывает дефицит финансирования. В парках есть гарантированный операционный доход. Расти он не будет, возможно, немного снизится. У нас меньше денег, больше давления, но мы оказываем более качественные услуги.»

Марк Кэмли / Лондон, Великобритания
Исполнительный директор Олимпийского парка королевы Елизаветы

«Все мы пострадаем из-за финансовых трудностей, вызванных ограничением на работу общепита и мероприятий. Я думаю, что создание чего-то нового для наших новых посетителей могло бы улучшить наше финансовое благополучие в будущем. Сохранение заинтересованности старых посетителей и привлечение новых станет большим достижением. Парки должны оставаться местом для спокойного отдыха и получения удовольствия, когда все нормализуется.»

ПЕРСПЕКТИВЫ

Алексей Ретеюм / Москва, Россия
Председатель Совета НКО «Ассоциация парков», директор Ботанического сада МГУ «Аптекарский огород»

«Людям захочется все также отдыхать, приходить в сады и парки, получать эмоции. И мы довольно быстро сумеем выйти на те показатели, которые у нас были в предыдущие годы до этой трагедии с распространением коронавируса. Я думаю, что может быть даже уже осенью этого года.»

Кристина Брем / Цюрих, Швейцария
Директор Управления парков и открытых пространств мэрии Цюриха

«Я верю, что люди в Цюрихе и другие жители Швейцарии смогли осознать, насколько важны парки и общественные пространства, которые находятся в районе их проживания.»

Павел Данилов / Москва, Россия
Руководитель «Проектного офиса ЖКХ и городской среды» Минстроя России

«Я считаю, что повысится ответственность перед властями — как региональными, так и муниципальными — за выбор места (будущей парковой территории). Сейчас нужно особенно тщательно подходить и ранжировать места предполагаемого благоустройства по востребованности их населением.»

Бишоп Нгобели / Йоханнесбург, ЮАР
Президент Института управления окружающей средой и рекреацией Южной Африки

«Сейчас мы, профессионалы со всего мира, должны объединиться и вести диалог о том, как выстраивать работу в парках в будущем. Обсуждать, как процессом управляют в разных частях мира. Мы нуждаемся в совместной работе как никогда раньше: благодаря общим усилиям, мы сможем выработать правильный подход к подобным кризисам.»

Афиша парков

Некоммерческая корпоративная организация «Ассоциация по развитию городских парков и общественных пространств» (НКО «Ассоциация парков»)

107140, Москва, ул. Русаковская, д. 13
Бизнес-центр «Бородино Плаза», оф. 0706

Для корреспонденции:
107140, Москва, а/я 135, Ассоциация парков

Для СМИ (экспертные комментарии):
+7 (919) 968-02-52
pr@urbanparks.ru

+7 (495) 748-93-34
info@urbanparks.ru

ОГРН 1177700019496

ИНН 7708329204

КПП 770801001

Р/С 40703810401150000033

Филиал «Центральный» Банка ВТБ (ПАО)

БИК 044525411